Lance Sussman, Ph.D.

RABBI LANCE J. SUSSMAN, Ph.D. began his service as the eighth Senior Rabbi of Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel in July 2001. He earned his Ph.D. at the Hebrew Union College–Jewish Institute of Religion (Cincinnati). A “Rabbi Doctor” in the tradition of KI’s Dr. Bert Korn, Sussman is a renowned author and dynamic lecturer. Rabbi Sussman has published numerous books and articles, including Isaac Lesser and the Making of American Judaism, and Sharing Sacred Moments (a collection of his sermons), and served as an editor of Reform Judaism in America: A Biographical Dictionary and Source book. His online and print book and movie reviews attract wide attention. He has appeared in several PBS specials on Judaism in America and has co-produced a documentary of his own, Voices for Justice with Dr. Gary P. Zola. Rabbi Sussman served as national Chair of the CCAR Press, the publishing arm of the Central Conference of American Rabbis for ten years and recently was elected President of the Association for Progressive Judaism, an independent Reform think tank based in New York City. He is an emeritus Trustee of the Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies at the University of Pennsylvania, the American Jewish Historical Society (NY) and is an active member of the Academic Advisory and Editorial Board of the American Jewish Archives (Cincinnati). Previously, Rabbi Sussman served as Chair of Jewish Studies Department at Binghamton University-SUNY and has offered courses in Jewish History at Hebrew Union College in New York City and Princeton University. He is an Adjunct Professor in American Jewish History at Princeton University and teaches Modern Jewish History and Art at Gratz College. Rabbi Sussman is currently writing a history of the Jews of Philadelphia, 1700-2015


Sessions

View full schedule